Monday 18 June 2018
Search - Content
Search SEO Glossary
Contact Us

New York Delegates

New York was founded in 1613. When the British claimed its territories in America, New York was actually a part of the Province of New York, along with Delaware, New Jersey and Vermont. The king reassigned these places after some time to become individual colonies, and New York was named after James, Duke of York.

New York sent three (3) delegates to the Philadelphia Convention, two of which, John Lansing, Jr. and Robert Yates, did not sign the Constitution.