Monday 18 June 2018
Search - Content
Search SEO Glossary
Contact Us

New Jersey Delegates

New Jersey was founded in 1664 by the British crown, though Dutch settlements were already there as early as in 1613. It was then called New Netherland, and the land area was known to include some parts of New York. New Jersey was given to Lord Berkeley of Stratton and Sir George Carteret by King Charles.

New Jersey sent five (5) delegates to the Philadelphia Convention, one of whom, William C. Houston, did not sign the Constitution.