Saturday 21 July 2018
Search - Content
Search SEO Glossary
Contact Us


Search for glossary terms (regular expression allowed)
Begin with Contains Exact termSounds like
All A B C D E F G H I J K L M O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Following the defeat of French forces at Nova Scotia in 1755 during the Seven Years' War, French Canadians there and in modern New Brunswick refused to swear to cease resistance against British forces. British authorities then ordered all enemy civilians to be forcibly deported, beginning on 8 October, to the thirteen colonies. Over 6,000 persons were exiled until the war's end, at which time many hundreds refused to go back to Canada, which had come under British jurisdiction, and resettled in Spanish Louisiana, where they and their descendants became known as “Cajuns.”