What is Parliament?
Articles Blog

What is Parliament?

November 19, 2019

is the heart of Canada’s democracy. Located in the national capital Ottawa,
it’s the country’s federal legislature. This means Parliament makes laws
that affect the whole country in certain areas like fisheries, trade, defense, or the postal service. These are things that affect all Canadians
no matter where they live. Parliament has three parts: the Monarch, the Senate and the House of Commons. The Senate and House of Commons are where
parliamentarians meet to represent Canadians and discuss
and debate issues that matter to them. As well as proposing its own Bills,
the Senate debates, studies, and refines proposals for new laws
passed by the House of Commons. Senators are appointed to represent
every province and territory in Canada. They offer regional and minority perspectives
on issues discussed at Parliament. The House of Commons proposes,
debates, reviews, and passes Bills. This is where
most new laws start their journey. Members of Parliament
in the House of Commons are elected by Canadians like you. Each Member of Parliament
represents a specific area of the country called a constituency or riding. The third part of Parliament is the Monarch! The Monarch is the country’s Head of State and is represented
by the Governor General in Canada. After the Senate
and House of Commons both pass a Bill, the Governor General signs it into law. The Governor General
also opens new sessions of Parliament and has the power to dissolve Parliament,
which triggers an election. These are just a few
of the Governor General’s roles. Together, the three parts of Parliament
create new laws and tackle issues that impact the lives of all Canadians.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *